Further Use: Wild Greens Scramble

This morning after my alarm sounded, I jumped out of bed to a beautiful sunny Spring morning. At last! I knew it was time to start eating from my backyard. Although it is often a shady place, and the worst place ever to grow tomatoes, this backyard provides a habitat for many amazing understorey and shade tolerant plants.

IMG_6560

See me sitting by the hedge and fencerows. I invade this land!

IMG_6561

I may be flowering already near you- check south facing walls or fences.

IMG_6562

Yum!

Amidst the seeds of the Honey Locust ( Gleditsia triacanthos) trees that shade my yard, I found two of my favourite spring greens – Jack-by-the-hedge (Alliaria petiolata) and Blow Ball (Taraxacum officinale). You may know them by other names, but whatever the name, they always smell as pungent 😉

I grabbed these oft-named weeds, rinsed them in bowl, and checked my garden for Nettles. Alas, there were none showing their prickly faces yet, and so cooking with nettles will have to wait for another day.

After rinsing and chopping the greens, I set to work. Heating up my cast-iron frying pan with a small spoon of butter (or you could use any cooking oil of preference) I diced up some sweet yellow onions from the farmer’s market.  My winter veggie box had sent me home with a dozen organic eggs that were also destined to be in my belly this morning.

IMG_6563

Before

IMG_6564

After

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After the onions browned, I added the greens and some eggs, and sprinkled them with some wild leek salt I made last year. Delicious breakfast! Thanks backyard!

 

 

Leave a Reply

